29 - 30 MAY 2014
U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Washington DC, USA



avatar for HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco

HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco

Sovereign Prince of Monaco
avatar for James Aronson

James Aronson

Researcher, CEFE/CNRS, Representative-at-large, Society for Ecological Restoration (SER)
avatar for Monique Barbut

Monique Barbut

General Secretary, United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD)
avatar for Jeb Barzen

Jeb Barzen

Director of Field Ecology, International Crane Foundation
avatar for Peter Besseau

Peter Besseau

Director International Affairs, Canadian Forest Service, Natural Resources Canada, Executive Director, International Mod, Co-Chair, Global Partnership on Forest Landscape Restoration.
avatar for Pedro Brancalion

Pedro Brancalion

Mata atlantica Forest Restoration Pact, University of San Paulo (USP)
avatar for Ben Brown

Ben Brown

Senior Ecologist - Blue Forests, Indonesia
avatar for Jonah Busch

Jonah Busch

Research fellow, Center for Global Development
avatar for Anne Castle

Anne Castle

Assistant Secretary for Water and Science, U.S. Department of the Interior
avatar for David Cooper

David Cooper

Director, Science, Assessment and Monitoring Division representing Braulio Dias, Secretary General, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)
avatar for Mauricio Moura Costa

Mauricio Moura Costa

Co-founder and Chief Operational Officer, BVRio
avatar for Naïg Cozannet

Naïg Cozannet

Senior project manager, Biodiversity & Forests, Agence Française de Développement
avatar for Sean DeWitt

Sean DeWitt

Senior Manager, Forest Landscape Restoration, World Resources Institute (WRI)
avatar for Harvey Fineberg

Harvey Fineberg

President, Institute of Medecine of the National Academies, USA
avatar for Jean-Luc François

Jean-Luc François

Director, Agriculture, Rural Development and Biodiversity, Agence Française de Développement
avatar for Sarah Frazee

Sarah Frazee

Chief Executive Officer, Conservation South Africa (CI)
avatar for Antoine Frérot

Antoine Frérot

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Veolia
avatar for Hans Friederich

Hans Friederich

Director-General, International Network for Bamboo and Rattan (INBAR)
avatar for Françoise Gaill

Françoise Gaill

Special advisor,, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
avatar for Catherine Garreta

Catherine Garreta

Executive Director, Head of External Relations and Partnerships, Agence Française de Développement (AFD)
avatar for Dennis Garrity

Dennis Garrity

Drylands Ambassador, UNCCD, Senior Fellow, World Agroforestry Center,, Chair, EverGreen Agricultural Partnership, Chair, Landcare International
avatar for Pierre Gerber

Pierre Gerber

Livestock Policy Officer, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
avatar for Kyle Graham

Kyle Graham

Executive Director, Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority of Louisiana
avatar for K.L. Heong

K.L. Heong

Former principal scientist at International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Senior advisor to CABI South East Asia
avatar for Valerie Hickey

Valerie Hickey

Acting Sector Manager, Agriculture and Environmental Services; Senior Biodiversity Specialist,, World Bank
avatar for George Hornberger

George Hornberger

Chair, Water Science and Technology Board (WSTB)
avatar for Alexandre Ickowicz

Alexandre Ickowicz

Scientist, French Agricultural Research Center for International Development (CIRAD)
avatar for Jeffrey Jacobs

Jeffrey Jacobs

Director, Water Science and Technology Board (WSTB)
avatar for Clive Jones

Clive Jones

Senior Scientist, Ecologist Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
avatar for Cathy Kellon

Cathy Kellon

Program Director, Water and Watersheds, Ecotrust
avatar for LEI Guangchun

Lei Guangchun

Dean of School of Nature Conservation, Beijing Forestry University
avatar for Li Hao

Li Hao

Project Director, Beijing Forestry Society (BFS)
avatar for Gaëll Mainguy

Gaëll Mainguy

Director of Scientific publications, Veolia Institute
avatar for Julia Marton-Lefèvre

Julia Marton-Lefèvre

Director General, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
avatar for Carolina Murcia

Carolina Murcia

Consultant, CIFOR Science Director, Organization for Tropical Studies, USA
avatar for Andrea Nájera

Andrea Nájera

Manager of Strategic Ecosystems Conservation, National Forest Institute (INAB)
avatar for Cara Nelson

Cara Nelson

Associate Professor, Ecosystem & Conservation Sciences, University of Montana, Chair, Society for Ecological Restoration (SER)
avatar for Rajendra K. Pachauri

Rajendra K. Pachauri

Chairman, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Director General of The Energy and Resources Energy (TERI)
avatar for Linwood Pendleton

Linwood Pendleton

Senior Scholar in Ocean and Coastal Policy Program, Duke University's Nicholas Institute for Environment Policy Solutions
avatar for Pierre-Joël Philibert

Pierre-Joël Philibert

President and Chief Executive Officer, GRS Valtech
avatar for Stephen Polasky

Stephen Polasky

Fesler-Lampert Professor of Ecological/Environmental Economics and Regents Professor, University of Minnesota
avatar for Carole Saint-Laurent

Carole Saint-Laurent

Deputy Director, Global Forest and Climate Change Programme, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
avatar for Lynn Scarlett

Lynn Scarlett

Managing director, Public Policy, The Nature Conservancy (TNC)
avatar for Claudio Schneider

Claudio Schneider

Technical Director, Conservation International Peru
avatar for Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen

Economist, Professor of Economy and Philosophy, Harvard University, Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences
avatar for Fred Sklar

Fred Sklar

Director of the Everglades restoration science department, South Florida Water Management District
avatar for Robert Snow

Robert Snow

Attorney-Advisor, Office of the Solicitor, United States Department of the Interior
avatar for Andrew Steer

Andrew Steer

President and Chief Executive Officer, World Resources Institute (WRI)
avatar for Georges Valentis

Georges Valentis

Managing Director, Veolia Institute
avatar for Philippe Vallette

Philippe Vallette

Director General of Nausicáa, Member of the Blue Society Expert Group, France
avatar for Leslie Weldon

Leslie Weldon

Deputy Chief, National Forest System, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Forest Service
avatar for Piet Wit

Piet Wit

Chair, Commission on Ecosystem Management (CEM), International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
avatar for Gustavo Zuleta

Gustavo Zuleta

Director, Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Sc., Maimónides University., Vice-chair, Ibero-American and Caribbean Society for Ecological Restoration (SIACRE),


The Conference has been proposed by

Veolia Institute

Logo Institut Veolia

Veolia Institute, environmental think tank dedicated to promoting foresight reflection on interactions between society and the environment

US Water Science and Technology Board

National-Academy-of-Science-logo-thumb US Water Science and Technology Board, established in the US National Research Council, to provide a focal point for studies related to water resources

Agence Française De Développement

AgenceFrancaiseDeveloppementThe financial institution and main implementing agency for France’s official development assistance to developing countries and overseas territories

International Union for Conservation of Nature

IUCN-logo-thumb International Union for Conservation of Nature, the world's oldest and largest global environmental network


Logo Institut Veolia        AgenceFrancaiseDeveloppementIUCN-logo-thumbNational-Academy-of-Science-logo-thumb



FPA2LogoGB             CI logo             UNCCDlogo             WRI logo4c             LOGO MCNG2