Session 5
29 - 30 MAY 2014
U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Washington DC, USA


SESSION 5 - Decision-makers panel: Shaping a more sustainable and resilient planet

Decision-makers and influencers will share their views and offer inputs for the implementation of global objectives, such as the CBD Aichi Biodiversity targets, EU Biodiversity Strategy and the framing of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

avatar for George Hornberger

George Hornberger

Chair, Water Science and Technology Board (WSTB)
George M. Hornberger is Distinguished University Professor at Vanderbilt University, where he is the Director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Energy and the Environment. He has a shared appointment as the Craig E. Philip Professor of Engineering and as Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences. Previously he was Ernest H. Ern Professor of Environmental Sciences at the University of Virginia. He has served on numerous committees of the U.S. National Academies, including as chair of the Commission on Geosciences, Environment, and Resources (1996-2000), chair of the Board on Earth Sciences and Resources (2003-2009), and currently as chair of the Water Science and Technology Board. Hornberger received his Ph.D. in hydrology from Stanford University.

avatar for HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco

HSH Prince Albert II of Monaco

Sovereign Prince of Monaco
H.S.H. Prince Albert is the Sovereign Prince of Monaco. In 2006, His Highness the Prince set up the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation dedicated to protecting the environment and supporting the implementation of innovative and ethical solutions in three broad areas: climate change, water and biodiversity. In 2009, His Highness the Prince undertook a scientific journey in the Antarctic, which follows upon two other expeditions realized in arctic in 2005 (Spitzberg) and 2006 when H.S.H. reached the North Pole by sledge. His Highness the Prince was awarded the Teddy Roosevelt medal at the US Congress and other international Prizes in acknowledgement of his actions towards environmental protection. He was also awarded the Doctor Honoris Causa Insignia of Nice-Sophia-Antipolis University.
avatar for Monique Barbut

Monique Barbut

General Secretary, United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD)
Monique Barbut, Executive Secretary, United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD), has over 30 years’ experience in sustainable development, international diplomacy, governance and finance. From 2006 to 2012, she was Chief Executive Officer and Chairperson of the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and World Bank Vice President. Prior to that she was a UNEP director, preceding which she oversaw diverse functions in the French Aid system, ranging from aid evaluation to serving as Executive Director of Agence Française de Dévéloppement. She played a key role in the 1992 Rio Earth Summit finance negotiations and GEF’s creation thereafter.
avatar for David Cooper

David Cooper

Director, Science, Assessment and Monitoring Division representing Braulio Dias, Secretary General, Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)
Dr. Cooper is Director, Division for Science, Assessment and Monitoring at the Secretariat of the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity. Previously, he led work to promote the implementation of the Strategic Plan for Biodiversity 2011-2020 and national biodiversity strategies and action plans. He was Secretary of the tenth meeting of the CBD COP, Nagoya, 2010, which adopted the Strategic Plan and its twenty Aichi Biodiversity Targets. Earlier he led the development of the Convention’s Programme of Work on Agricultural Biodiversity and the Global Strategy for Plant Conservation.Previously, he worked at the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), among other organizations. He has written numerous papers on agriculture and food, and on biodiversity science and policy.
avatar for Rajendra K. Pachauri

Rajendra K. Pachauri

Chairman, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), Director General of The Energy and Resources Energy (TERI)
Dr. Rajendra Kumar Pachauri is the Chair of the Nobel Peace Prize-winning Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), the scientific intergovernmental body that provides decision-makers and the public with an objective source of information about climate change. He is also Director General of TERI (The Energy and Resources Institute), a major independent research organisation providing knowledge on energy, environment, forestry, biotechnology, and the conservation of natural resources. Dr Pachauri is a prominent researcher on environmental subjects, recognised internationally for his efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge and design counteracting measures about man-made climate change. He has been conferred with a number of prestigious awards from Heads of State of India, France, Japan, Finland, Belgium and Mexico.


The Conference has been proposed by

Veolia Institute

Logo Institut Veolia

Veolia Institute, environmental think tank dedicated to promoting foresight reflection on interactions between society and the environment

US Water Science and Technology Board

National-Academy-of-Science-logo-thumb US Water Science and Technology Board, established in the US National Research Council, to provide a focal point for studies related to water resources

Agence Française De Développement

AgenceFrancaiseDeveloppementThe financial institution and main implementing agency for France’s official development assistance to developing countries and overseas territories

International Union for Conservation of Nature

IUCN-logo-thumb International Union for Conservation of Nature, the world's oldest and largest global environmental network


Logo Institut Veolia        AgenceFrancaiseDeveloppementIUCN-logo-thumbNational-Academy-of-Science-logo-thumb



FPA2LogoGB             CI logo             UNCCDlogo             WRI logo4c             LOGO MCNG2